Mama Martin

quilting, gardening, sewing, motherhood….

Let the Canning Begin July 12, 2011

Filed under: canning — janelmartin @ 3:28 pm

On Saturday my friend Aimee and I headed to Rohrbach’s Farm Market.  We were planning on picking raspberries.  When we got there we asked someone where we go to pick raspberries.  She told us that it would be better if we came back on Monday because there weren’t many berries.  I’m glad that we decided to go look at the raspberry patch.  There were plenty of berries!

the raspberries left after canning and making bars

Raspberry Peach Bars

I also bought a 20 lb. box of blueberries.  I didn’t realize how many berries were in a 20 lb. box.  It’s a lot!!  When I got home I started making raspberry pie filling and blueberry pie filling.  The blueberry pie filling went so much better this year than last.  I had a better plan of attack.  I still made a mess, but it was a more organized process.  Hopefully once we have our countertops it will go even smoother.

Sometimes I forget that I can’t possibly do everything that I need to do.  The afternoon before I went berry picking I drove past a vegetable stand at someone’s house and stopped to look at their green beans.  I could buy a bushel for $9.  That is cheaper than anywhere else I can find them.  SO on top of all the berries I also had green beans to can.  Not only did I get a great price, but I also got way more green beans than are normally in a bushel.  So our shelves are starting to fill up 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

