Mama Martin

quilting, gardening, sewing, motherhood….

Blueberries Everywhere July 25, 2011

Filed under: canning — janelmartin @ 11:07 am

I decided to get another 20 lb. box of blueberries because my husband said they were his favorite berry.  Dean loves berries in general and for him to actually have a favorite of something is a pretty big deal. So on Saturday the blueberry madness began.  I canned 5 Qts. of blueberry pie filling and have another 3 cups in the fridge to turn into a pie.  I froze 4 Qts of blueberries Sat and Sunday.  Last night I made Blueberry Crumble.  This morning we had blueberry pancakes for breakfast.

There are still plenty of blueberries left.  I want to make blueberry syrup for ice cream.  Dean’s mom made this once when he was growing up and he still remembers it.  He said the key ingredient to the recipe was cinnamon. I’m hoping the recipe I find turns out somewhat like his moms 🙂 I’ll probably freeze most of what is left.  It seems like most recipes call for fresh or frozen blueberries.  Oh- I forgot to mention that all three of the boys in this house consumed quarts of blueberries before they were put into any recipe.  This is the easiest way to use up blueberries!

 

Leave a Reply

