Mama Martin

quilting, gardening, sewing, motherhood….

Barnyard Birthday Brunch August 29, 2011

Filed under: kids — janelmartin @ 5:48 pm

We celebrated Wesley’s 1st birthday this past Saturday, August 27th.  The guest list consisted of family.  I chose to make brunch because I love breakfast foods, but I didn’t want to invite everyone over at 7 in the morning.

Wesley's face tells it all- he loves his Grandpa.

enjoying his brunch

Uncle Ben and me talking. I had cowboys boots to wear, but I opted for sandals. Much more comfortable.

Aunt Karen took some great pictures:

The food prep started several days before.  We had quiche (broccoli cheddar and tomato basil), home fries, sticky buns, haystacks, blueberry baked oatmeal, homemade raspberry pop tarts, fruit salad and bacon.  My mom helped me an aweful lot- THANKS MOM!!  We also made three cakes- a pig, a sheep and a cow.

some of the food

My mom adding cocoa puffs to the feet of the sheep.

Calvin eating a tractor lolipop.

Wesley was all excited when I blew out the candle.

An example of a hot pad I made for favors. I forgot to take pictures before people took them home, so this is the hotpad that was leftover.

I also made a table runner with the above fabric and cloth napkins.

Wesley loved this ferris wheel. He kept spinning it around and around.

We had a great party!  After three days of cleaning up I think all of the dishes are finally done and the house is returning to it’s normal pace.

 

Leave a Reply

