Mama Martin

quilting, gardening, sewing, motherhood….

Declutter, Get Organized and Keep it That Way June 15, 2012

Filed under: clutter free — janelmartin @ 8:20 am

If you have ever been to my house you know that Dean  and I don’t keep an organized, clutter free home.  My dream house is beautifully decorated with everything ( well, almost everything) in its place.  It’s a home where my children won’t grow up surrounded by clutter.

So I decided that for the rest of 2012 I’m going to work extremely hard to make my house more the home of my dreams.  The first thing I’m going to do to put me on the right track is to get rid of about 1/3 of what we own.  As an incentive I will be selling these items through various yard sales and the money earned will be used for a family trip to Lancaster  The more money I earn, the more things we will be able to do.

These are the boxes that are currently in my kitchen filled with items to sell.  It’s a good start.  Now I just need to take pictures and put them on the fb yard sale sites I belong to.

If you are good at being clutter-free or organized please leave a comment with some advice!

 

3 Responses to “Declutter, Get Organized and Keep it That Way”

  1. Christi Says:

    It might be difficult with three small children in the house, but the easiest way that I have found to go through things is to completely empty whatever it is (bookshelf, pantry, closet, etc….) and then evaluate each item. I ask myself “Do I love this? and Do I use this?” If I don’t have at least one yes answer, out it goes (or at least on a pile for Elias to go through if I think he will have an opinion)! Then when I am left with the things I love and/or use, I come up with a plan to store them in the most organized way possible. I try to store things in the area where they are used. For example: We used to keep our games in a spare bedroom upstairs. However we don’t play games in the spare bedroom. We use either the living room or the dining room. So I reorganized things so that the games are stored in our living room. We are now on a one-in, one-out (we get a new one, an old one has to go) policy with the games, since the available space is full. Sorry for the long comment, but once I start talking about organizing, I have a hard time stopping! 🙂

  2. Getting organized is always so hard! Good luck and please share some good tips if you find some!

    Sometime when you’re down in the Lancaster area you should let me know and stop by. Once we get the new house, we’ll have a big fenced-in back yard- Ethan would love to have some friends to run around it with him!

  3. I know I’m commenting a little late but one thing that helps at our house is our file cabinet for paper things we are keeping, a mail tray for things that need sent out, and the rest we throw out once a week. Something that helped our toy cluttter was taking pictures of what is suppose to be in the bin so that way the kids know what bin it needs to be in. Lots of bins, baskets, and totes always help:) Also you can get shelving pretty cheap that you can hang clothes/coats on and also put things on top. That helped us to utilize as much closet space as possible. We’re by no means super organized, but we’re getting there better:)


Leave a Reply

